Menu

Murder sHE WROTE

May 14, 2019 - PASSION FRUIT, Poetry.
Murder sHE WROTE

I replay her murder

every time I lay on our sheets .

My love too suffocating for her to handle.

She couldn’t breath.

Knees straddling over her body.

Hands over heart throat and mouth.

Her pillow, the one closet to the window,

whispers her voice every time

I look to her side of the bed.

i take you to be my lawfully wedded husband, 

I coil my fingers around the back of her neck.

My purlicues hugging both sides of her neck.

She sighs, She likes it like this.

to have and to hold from this day forward,

my thumbs massaging her voice box.

She is relaxed.

for better or for worse, 

thumbs digging in to the strings ,

hands grip getting tighter and tighter

like a snake suffocating prey.

I sigh, I like it like this.

 I apply more pressure.

for richer, for poorer. 

Her eyes are wide open in horror.

she is looking back at me.

she seems is uncomfortable.

I see her fear, loosing trust.

in sickness and in health, 

I can feel her body tense underneath mine.

She is trying to say something. Scream. Yell

but her eyes are telling me enough.

I tell her to “ssssshhhhhhh, I thought you liked it this way ? “

to love and to cherish 

I can feel her pulse drumming against my palms.

I methodically transfer my left hand, my stronger hand from her throat to over her mouth.

She is squirming, fighting, trying to roll her body from underneath me.

She stands no chance against my love.

till death do us part

She is fighting less and less.

her heart beats slower,

I can feel it lightly tapping my sweaty palm.

according to God’s holy law

Her eyes soften slowly closing.

Her breath softens.

and this is my solemn vow.

Her eyes close and her pulse stops.

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Murder sHE WROTE

whyoba

Dear Kemi,
I really love the way you put a spin on the title. To be honest it threw me off for a second when I realized that it was in the man’s perspective. I love the way you used parts of wedding vows to begin the stanzas. I loved how the memory starts off soft with the 3-4 line stanzas and it grows with intensity as the memory continues then it ends with a 2 line stanza giving her death finality. I don’t really have anything for you to work on. Maybe leave a space from the picture to the beginning of this piece so that the lines match up with the following.

All in all, I really enjoyed your piece. You’re such a great writer and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Love you lots bb,
Oba

Reply
    oluwakemia

    Dear Oba,
    thank you so much for your taking time to read my piece.
    Love, Kemi

    Reply
cammie

Dear Kemi,

This is a really beautiful piece. I how you put the wedding vows at the beginning of each stanza. I have nothing for you to work on because this piece is so beautiful!

Cammie <3

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar