Menu

At What Cost ?

June 12, 2019 - COLOURED
At What Cost ?

 

Barrel 

chick-chick boom

I’ll close my eyes and count down to one

and hope when my eyes open

they won’t see the barrel of a gun

No weapon fashioned against me shall prosper in Jesus name. Ami(Amen) 

chick-chick boom

Too late.

 

Bullets

the nails that keep our coffin closed

Open is to be alive

And closed ? – Well you know how it goes.

 

Bodied 

Let my insides spill out of my frame

Let the murked mark the concrete

I’ll mark the avenue

Make it mine

This is no longer Jefferson Ave but where I got shot-we got shot

Blood slain, Body sinking into the side walk, A human sacrifice

the streets sacrifice

our sacrifice

the new face of 6′ o clock breaking news story

the new token black girl

our token

Another false arrest

Another resistance

Another face slammed on a slab of cold, hard street

Another bullet, then two, then three

Please remember to lay bullets at my grave

cause we don’t know flowers

Ain’t never seen something grow without being shot down.

 

Blood 

me like them

pain so deep it is written in brown ink on skin

feel it

The Black Experience

Feeling limbs become phantom

as you tune into the 6′ o clock news

Flesh torn from the bone

tissue ridding arms to function

unable to hold hands in revolt

or embrace brethren in consult

One name after the next

One face after the next

More blood after the next


I’ve been working on this for awhile about 2 months or even more. I really want to add more to it and perfect it but I don’t know what else to say or add more to it. This is an attempt to return to my roots of the blog, return to the “racially woke” side of myself. So often I feel like I am in denial of or ignore the day to day problems of being a black woman. I think I have discovered and harbored myself into a place of complacency like I have normalized ignorance, bigotry and arrogance. I’ve encountered these problems literally everyday and I think I have become tried of the sorrows of honesty and revolt. I don’t want to deal with the problems of being black some days(most days). Do I feel like I am betraying my identity, culture, myself, brethren, my community ? -Absolutely and I feel great guilt over it. But at what cost will I rain war over anybody who tries my blackness ? Well let’s wait and see.


https://www.teenvogue.com/story/support-the-black-lives-matter-movement

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar